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Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission   Agency No. 125.00 
Effective: January 1, 2007 
Jon S. Fitch, Executive Director                      FINAL RULE 
                          
Act 1306 of 1997 (Ark. Code 2-40-801) 

 
EIA REGULATIONS 

REGARDING ACT 1306 OF 1997
 

 1. Testing of equidae done at approved markets may be done by licensed, accredited, 
practicing veterinarians or by Commission authorized personnel.  If blood is 
collected by Commission personnel, the cost will be $25.00 per animal, payable to 
the market by the owner.  The market shall pay the Livestock and Poultry 
Commission $25.00 per animal tested by the Commission personnel by the 10th of 
the next month following the sale.  If blood is collected by practicing veterinarian, 
fees will be by private treaty. 

 
2. There will be a $3.00 fee assessed to Arkansas licensed, practicing veterinarians for 

each Arkansas domiciled equidae tested for EIA.  An equine is considered domiciled 
within the state when it has been pastured, stabled, housed, or kept in any fashion in 
the state more than thirty consecutive or inconsecutive days.  The $3.00 fee will also 
be assessed on any out-of-state equidae that is being tested at a market to be sold in 
Arkansas.  This fee is in addition to laboratory fees for running the test.  Failure to 
submit fees according to provisions of regulation will cause test papers to be 
rendered invalid and in case of reactor or adjacent herd testing the continuance of 
quarantine until fees are received by the Commission.  Arkansas licensed, practicing 
veterinarians who wish to use the Commission’s EIA ID test card for equidae 
owners that contains all pertinent and necessary information may access and submit 
digital photographs of horse(s) to the Commission’s website.  A $5 fee will be 
assessed for each EIA test card issued.  This is in addition to the laboratory testing 
fees and EIA regulatory fee. 

 
3. Accredited laboratories conducting tests on samples from Arkansas equidae or 

samples from sales in Arkansas shall send Part 4 of the VS Form 10-11 (or other 
form approved by the Commission), or a legible copy of this form to the Arkansas 
Livestock and Poultry Commission, P. O. Box 8505, Little Rock, AR 72215 by the 
10th of the month following the month the test was run.  (Positive samples must still 
be reported within 24 hours of classification.) 
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4. Livestock markets must be approved by the Commission for selling equidae.  

Markets that accept reactor or exposed animals for sale, and markets that allow 
horses to be tested on site must have a quarantine pen that is clearly marked with a 
sign or paint to keep reactors and exposed horses in, as well as any equidae that test 
positive at the market.  They also must have a fly control program as described in the 
Code of Federal Regulations, Part 75:  “The stockyard shall have in effect a fly 
control program utilizing at least one of the following; baits, fly strips, electric bug 
killers (“Fly Zappers,” “Fly Snappers,” or similar equipment), application of a 
pesticide effective against flies, applied according to the schedule and dosage 
recommended by the manufacturer for fly control.”) 

 
The quarantine pen must be far enough from the area where negative tested animals 
are kept that, in the opinion of the inspector, the negative tested equidae will not be 
exposed. 

 
Markets that handle only equidae with current tests (conducted within the last six (6) 
months) are not required to have a quarantine pen or fly control program. 

 
5. Owners of horses (all equidae) domiciled within the state of Arkansas shall be 

responsible for maintaining a negative current official EIA (equine infectious 
anemia) test on all horses (equidae) that they own.  When an owner/agent of any 
equine in the state of Arkansas has been found to be in violation of this requirement, 
the owner will have no more than 14 (fourteen) days from receiving a quarantine 
notice and warning letter to have all of his/her equine tested for EIA.  At the 
discretion of ARLPC officials, the fourteen day period could be extended.  The 
penalty for violation of this regulation is a Class A misdemeanor under state law. 

 
6. When a private laboratory obtains a positive ELISA test for EIA, the horse will be 

quarantined and permitted back to the farm of origin and all horses on that premises 
will be quarantined while waiting on a final confirmation test (AGID).  Also, 
exposed or adjacent equine shall be quarantined if necessary.  It will be the 
responsibility of the testing veterinarian to notify Arkansas Livestock & Poultry 
Commission officials of a positive ELISA test.  If the final AGID test is negative, 
then the quarantine will be released.  If the final AGID test is positive, then part 
seven of this regulation will go into effect. 
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7. When a reactor equidae is detected, all equidae within the affected and adjacent 

herds will be quarantined by an authorized agent of the Commission.  All equidae in 
affected and adjacent herds will remain quarantined until all are tested negative at 
least 60 days and no more than 80 days after the removal of the reactor. 

 
 8. Deviations in testing and quarantines are acceptable when they are made by the 

designated epidemiologist.  
 
 
Issued in Little Rock, Arkansas on December 7, 2006. 
 
         
 
 
 
       Jon S. Fitch, Executive Director 
       Ark. Livestock & Poultry Comm. 

  


