

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

1 Natural Resources Drive, Little Rock, AR 72205 agriculture.arkansas.gov (501) 225-1598



Sarah Huckabee Sanders Governor

> FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 11/7/2024 Contact: Shealyn Sowers, 501.355.6667 shealyn.sowers@agriculture.arkansas.gov

Governor Sanders Honors 41 Arkansas Century Farms

LITTLE ROCK, AR – Today, Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders was joined by Arkansas Secretary of Agriculture Wes Ward to induct 41 farms into the Arkansas Century Farm Program.

The Arkansas Century Farm Program recognizes Arkansas farms of 10 acres or more owned by the same family for at least 100 years. The Arkansas Department of Agriculture established the program in 2012 to highlight these families' contributions to the agriculture industry and our state. The program is voluntary, and there is no cost for participating families.



Agriculture is the largest industry in Arkansas and contributes more than \$24.3 billion to the state's economy annually. Arkansas has 38,000 farms, and 95 percent are family-owned.

"Our family farmers are the backbone of our state and that's especially true for our Century Farm families," said Governor Sanders. "We often talk about farming in terms of economics, which is absolutely critical and very important considering it's one of Arkansas' largest industries. But the importance of farming goes much deeper than that. It's part of our heritage. It's part of our history and it's part of our basic survival. Thank you for keeping our country fed, our state growing and our communities strong."

"The Arkansas Century Farm Program exists to recognize and honor the Arkansas farm families that, for generations, have dedicated their lives to serving others and providing the food, fiber, fuel, and shelter that we all depend on every single day of our lives," said Secretary Ward.

With the addition of today's inductees, there are 645 Arkansas Century Farms throughout the state. The 41 newly inducted farms are located in the following counties: Arkansas, Baxter, Benton, Boone, Clay, Columbia, Conway, Craighead, Cross, Desha, Franklin, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Logan, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Ouachita, Pike, Poinsett, Polk, Prairie, Pulaski, Searcy, Union, Van Buren, and White.

A list of this year's inductees can be found <u>here</u>. Photos from the induction ceremony can be found <u>here</u>.

Applications for the 2025 class of inductees will open in February, 2025 and close in May, 2025. More information on the program and previous inductees can be found on the Department's <u>website</u>.

The Arkansas Department of Agriculture is dedicated to the development and implementation of policies and programs for Arkansas agriculture, forestry, and natural resources conservation to keep its farmers and ranchers competitive in national and international markets while sustaining natural resources and ensuring safe food, fiber, and forest products for the citizens of the state and nation. The Arkansas Department of Agriculture offers its programs to all eligible persons regardless of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability and is an Equal Opportunity Employer. For more information, visit <u>agriculture.arkansas.gov/</u>.