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State Forest Emergencies

To report an emergency at Poison Springs 
State Forest (PSSF), call the Forestry 
Dispatch Center at (800) 468-8834.

Poison Springs
State Forest

Questions?
We’re here to help!

Poison Springs State Forest
2501 Maul Road

Camden, Arkansas 71701
(870) 836-5882  |  agriculture.arkansas.gov

PSSF is located in portions of Ouachita and 
Nevada counties. Established in 1931, the 
Forestry Divison’s mission is to protect 
Arkansas’s forests, and those who enjoy 
them, from wildland fire and natural hazards 
while promoting rural and urban forest 
health, stewardship, development, and 
conservation for all generations of Arkansans.

The Forestry Division offers its programs to all eligible 
persons regardless of race, color, national origin, sex, 
age, or disability and is an Equal Opportunity Employer.
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Camping
• Campsites must be occupied within 24 hours 

of the date on the camping permit.
• Campsites must be clean of all trash and 

debris before departure.
• Campfires must be kept under control.
• All individuals are required to have a permit 

from the Forestry Division to camp on PSSF.
 

PSSF will be closed to camping from July 1-15, 
2024, and March 23-29, 2025. 

General
• No tree may be severed, damaged, or 

destroyed.
• Violation of the following general restrictions 

may result in revocation of the PSSF camping 
permit:

 - Excessive consumption of alcoholic 
beverages.

 - Use of illegal drugs.
 - Public endangerment with a firearm.
• All permit holders are subject to all applicable 

state and federal game and firearm laws and 
regulations.

• Posting on PSSF property is prohibited.
• This signed Guidelines for Use notice must be 

carried by each individual on PSSF property.

Poison Springs State Forest (PSSF) includes 24,010 
acres in western Ouachita and eastern Nevada 
counties. Purchased by the Arkansas Forestry 
Commission (AFC) in 1957, PSSF got its name from a 
nearby spring of the same name, and is a historic Civil 
War battle site.
The Forestry Division manages PSSF for multiple uses, 
including demonstration of good forest management 
practices, timber production, recreation, water 
quality protection, research, and wildlife habitat.
PSSF includes 100 primitive campsites, White Oak 
Lake, an equestrian trail, and firing range.
• White Oak Lake is a 2,845 acre man-made lake 

that adjoins PSSF.
• The equestrian trail is open from June 1 to Sept- 

ember 30 and February 1 to March 31 each year.
• The firing range is open all year. 

Be advised of the following guidelines while 
hunting, fishing, visiting, or enjoying any type of 

recreation at PSSF:

ATVs/UTVs
• The use of all-terrain (ATV) and utility-terrain 

vehicles (UTV) is allowed all year.
• Individuals may use ATVs/UTVs only on gravel 

roads, logging roads, or trails, unless the roads or 
trails are closed by use of a sign. New trails may 
not be created with ATVs/UTVs.

• ATVs/UTVs are not allowed on boundary lines 
that have been cleared by the Forestry Division.

Hunting
• No hunting is allowed from gravel roads. 

Hunters must be 100 feet from the centerline 
of a gravel road to hunt. Individuals may hunt 
from unimproved logging roads or trails.

• Horses and mules are allowed for legal hunting 
activities at night during furbearer season.

• Hunters with an Arkansas Game & Fish 
Commission (AGFC) mobility impaired permit 
may ride ATVs/UTVs on PSSF property 
boundary lines only to: 1) Assist in reaching 
hunting locations; and/or 2) Carry a deer stand 
or retrieve downed game for haul out. Mobility 
impaired permits can be acquired through 
the AGFC.

• Hunters may use ATVs/UTVs off established 
roads and trails to retrieve their downed game 
for haul out. Only one ATV is authorized to 
leave the road or trail to retrieve downed 
game. The shortest practical route to the game 
must be taken. Hunters MAY NOT use 
ATVs/UTVs to scout areas or to look for game. 
ATVs/UTVs must remain on roads or trails to 
carry in and remove deer stands.

Equestrian Trails
• Recreational equestrian travel is restricted to 

existing trails and roads. The equestrian trail is 
open from June 1 to September 30 and 
February 1 to March 31 each year.

CampingHuntingPoison Springs State Forest
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